Litchfield News

Region 6 school board bids farewell to Drapp (06-14-17)

Soon to depart Region 6 Superintendent of Schools Edward Drapp receives an ovation from the district's Board of Education during its meeting at the James Morris School in Morris on Tuesday. BZ photos

It was an evening of tributes during the Region 6 Board of Education meeting at the James Morris School in Morris on Tuesday.

The school board recognized outgoing Superintendent of Schools Edward Drapp for his 10 years of service in Region 6, five teachers, and three students.

Drapp, superintendent for six years and previously business manager for four years, was cited for outstanding leadership by school board Chairman Christopher Sanders of Goshen. Under Drapp's leadership, according to Sanders, Region 6 schools made dramatic strides in improvement and are operating in a more fiscally-sound manner.

"It has been an incredible period of growth and accomplishment for the district," Sanders said. 

District-wide accomplishments under Drapp's leadership included Wamogo's middle school being named the Connecticut Association of Schools Middle School of the Year and Wamogo earning reaccreditation from the New England Association of Schools and Colleges. Topping the list was Wamogo being named a National Blue Ribbin school by the U.S. Department of Education.

Drapp's next stop will be the Shelton school system, where he will be the director of finance. Shelton's education budget is $75 million, compared to Region's budget of $19 million.

The school board also paid tribute to retiring teachers Madelyn Battistoni (27 years), Carol Leavitt (39 years), Sue Carpenter (38 years) and Joanne Woodington (43 years). Battistoni teaches at the James Morris School, Leavitt and Woodington at the Warren School, and Carpenter at Goshen Center School. Battistoni, Carpenter and Woodington have spent their entire careers in Region 6, while Leavitt has spent 30 years in the district.

Recognized too was Region 6 health and wellness guru Alisa Wright, the district's teacher of the year for 2018 and the Connecticut Association of School's teacher of the year.

Students recognized were Wamogo junior Rose Kelly and Wamogo eighth-graders Grace Farrell and Matthew Thompson. The three were honored for being recipients of Connecticut Boards of Education Student Leadership Awards.

Warren School second-grader Nico Dinicola presented Edward Drapp with a tie as a gift.

Edward Drapp with Connecticut Association of Schools Teacher of the Year Alisa Wright.


Edward Drapp with Connecticut Boards of Education Student Leadership Award winners, from left, Rose Kelly, Grace Farrell and Matthew Thompson.

Retiring teachers honored were, from left, Madeline Battistoni, Carol Leavitt, Sue Carpenter and Joanne Woodington.

Back to News